Whoops there goes the hard drive

Posted: October 16, 2011 in Technology
Tags: , ,

It wouldn’t install. No matter what I did Office 2010 was not going to cooperate with Windows 7 and no amount of swearing or fiddling with directory file permissions was going to help.  This was a rush job, as things often are in our house. My wife needed it so she could update her learning resources for a course she was teaching in two days time. By midnight however; I’d had enough of bashing my head against a brick wall and I went to bed.

The next day my wife phoned me in tears while I was at work. Office 2010 still wasn’t installed and Office 2007 which had once been there was gone as well.  I reluctantly agreed that she should take it to a fix-it man down the road. The following day the PC arrived back in the house. It had only cost 75 quid to fix which seemed a bargain.

That was until I discovered what had happened to my PC. Basically all this idiot had done was format the C drive and reinstall windows from scratch. No checking to see what was on the drive or anything, just: Format C: and then Install.

That drive had our whole life on it:  all our photos, our music collection, the company accounts, my book, my next blog post and this moron didn’t even bother to check or call or anything.  A few years ago this would have been the end of the world as we know it but because I use an on-line backup service now all my data still exists up there somewhere in the clouds. What it is though is a real pain in the arse.  There are 120 Gigabytes of data which I now have to download and restore to its rightful place on my PC and  my monthly download limit is only 50. It’s going to take a month or two to get it all back.

That is the one and only time that anyone other than me is going to work on my PC.

Comments
  1. Christy Farmer says:

    Wow. Sorry to hear that Phil!

  2. petedenton says:

    I can’t believe they did that. Nightmare! You have my sympathy.

  3. zencherry says:

    Awww man! (Shakes fist at stupid tech guy)

  4. Nick Rolynd says:

    Oh, Jeez. That’s horrible. What kind of tech guy doesn’t know any better than that? Sorry for all the hassle! I hope you get all your data back.

  5. emmiemears says:

    Oh god…that made my blood run cold. I have nightmares about losing my book. *Shudder*

    Glad to hear you have it all backed up, but still…what a royal pain in the arse for sure.

  6. philsrogers says:

    Thanks everyone for the comments – I think I’m nearly up and running again now.

  7. clarbojahn says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Makes me all the more eager to down loud my stuff sooner rather than later. Think I’ll use a thumb drive.

    How do you go about getting back from the “cloud” and who do you use?

    • philsrogers says:

      Hi, I’ve started using a thumb drive as well. The cloud service I use is iDrive, they give you 120Gigs of space which is good for photos as well. They have a client which enables you to decide what to back-up and what to restore. I am very happy with them.

Leave a Reply

